Hello, Hong Kong!

WechatIMG3

My name is YANG Lin, a postgraduate student from the school of communication, Hong Kong Baptist University. I’m 25 years old now. It is said that life doesn’t really start until the age of 25, perhaps this choice could be the turning point of my life.

Before applying to this university, I worked as a reporter for local press in my hometown for more than two years. Instead of going out on stories, I went to press conferences regularly and sat in front of my computer editing stories written by others. As time went on, I began to be fed up with such work.

I once attended the National Postgraduate Entrance Examination and National Public Servant Tests, but I failed them all. At that time, I felt very confused about the future.

Fortunately, a conversation with my friend made me change my mind. She was a student at Hong Kong Baptist University in 2015, and her life at school was extremely appealing to me. She encouraged me to attempt to apply to be a postgraduate in Hong Kong, and then, I handed in my application for HKBU.

All the anxiety and confusion gradually disappeared with the beginning of the class. The teachers here are all humorous in class but serious and rigorous for our assignments. It’s hard for me to become a student again, but this kind of intense life makes me feel more satisfied than ever.

More than two years of work experience has given me a deeper understanding of my professional knowledge and made me recognize what I can do in this area and how much I have to learn. I am very grateful for this decision and I believe that I have  limitless possibilities to become a better me in this place full of opportunities and challenges.

Hello, Hong Kong!

Thank you, Hong Kong!

    Leave a comment